In the inaugural ceremony of Sankarabharanam Awards, the officials on Monday had announced that actors Aamir Khan, Dhanush, and Jr.NTR had won the awards. Sankarabharanam Awards, formed in honor of filmmaker K. Vishwanath by actress Tulasi, will honor winners from five film industries which include artists from backdrops like Telugu, Tamil, Malayalam, Kannada, and Hindi.

The award ceremony will take place on Tuesday and Tulasi also confirmed Aamir Khan and Alia Bhatt have won Best Actor award for their respective performances in “Dangal” and “Udta Punjab”.

Junior NTR has bagged Best Actor (male) for his performance in the film “Janatha Garage”.

Dhanush won the Best Director award for his Tamil directorial debut “Pa Pandi”.

Actor Dulquer Salmaan won the Best Actor (male) award for his performance in Malayalam film “Oru Vadakkan Selfie”.

Explaining why the need to honour artists from five industries, Tulasi told IANS: “My guru and mentor Dadasaheb Phalke awardee, K Viswanath has worked with both the northern and southern industries in his illustrious career. He stands for the unity of our cinema, a beautiful aesthetic medium that knows no boundaries of geography or language.”

Also, she added that she wanted to include a long list of technicians and other artists from Telugu film industry but could not possibly do that. She also confessed that “We have four categories across industries this year. This is because we had less time to organize the event this year. From next year, we will plan much in advance with a more uniform list.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here